Madrasatus Sālihāt

Founded in 2013, Madrasatus Sālihāt is an educational institute for sisters offering part-time ʿĀlimah classes, and facilities for part-time adult education. Students have the opportunity of enrolling in the six year ʿĀlimiyyah Course (Islāmic theology programme).

The institute aims to provide students with the necessary foundations in the Qur’ān and Sunnah as well as the moral and spiritual attributes which have been the characteristics of scholars of Islām throughout the generations.

The institute aims to equip students with the necessary academic and spiritual capabilities that will help students to become scholars of the future.

ʿĀlimiyyah (Islāmic Theology)

The ʿĀlimiyyah Course is a version of the traditional course that has proven successful throughout the ages and is still a valued system of learning in Islāmic educational establishments worldwide. It is specially engineered to cover the key Islāmic sciences needed to give an individual a comprehensive and thorough understanding of Islām. The Course is structured around a series of set texts, including a core of sacred texts and classical works, and other graded text books.

At Al Barakah Academy we offer this course through a six year programme wherein students achieve a firm grounding in Classical Arabic within the first three years and then progress through Basic Fiqh (Islāmic Jurisprudence), Hadīth (Prophetic Traditions) and Tafsīr (Exegesis of the Qur’ān) within years three and four. Students will then study Hadīth (Prophetic Traditions) and Tafsīr (Exegesis of the Qur’ān) more comprehensively along with progressing further in Fiqh (Islāmic Jurisprudence) and Classical Arabic in years five and six.

All subjects are internally assessed with assessments taking place through monitoring written exercises and through bi-annual examinations. In order to maintain high standards, students failing to achieve the pass mark are required to re-sit their exam(s) and achieve a satisfactory result before advancing further in the course.

Aims of the ʿĀlimiyyah Course

To carry out an in-depth study of the sacred sources of Islām, i.e. the Qur’ān and Hadīth, and the rulings derived from them in the form of Islāmic Law, after gaining proficiency in Classical Arabic.

Learning Outcomes

Students are expected to achieve a thorough understanding of Classical Arabic and related sciences. They are expected to understand the meaning and interpretations of the Qur’ān and the major collections of Hadīth and how they apply to the individual and humankind. They are expected to know the principles of how Islāmic Laws are derived from the primary sources and have a sound knowledge of Islāmic legal rulings. Students are expected to develop familiarity with the vast field of Islāmic scholarship, and the skills to research and further their expertise in any particular area.


Year One

  • Urdū Language: Urdū Kā Āsān Qāʿidah, Teach Yourself Urdū, Fadā’il e A’māl
  • Urdū Literature: Allāh Ke Rasūl ﷺ, Hadrat Abū Bakr RA, Hadrat ʿUmar RA, Hadrat ʿUthmān RA, Hadrat ʿAlī RA
  • Arabic Language: Das Sabaq
  • Arabic Language: Durūs ul Lughatul ʿArabiyya
  • Tajwīd (Intonation): Nūrānī Qāʿidah

Year Two

  • Nahw (Syntax/Grammar): Āsān Nahw – Parts 1 & 2
  • Sarf (Etymology): Muʿallimus Sarf
  • Arabic Literature: Qasasun Nabiyyīn – Parts 1 & 2
  • Urdū Literature: Rahmat e ʿĀlam ﷺ
  • Tajwīd (Intonation): Tajwīd ul Mubtadī
  • Fiqh (Jurisprudence): Behishtī Zewar – Part 1

Year Three

  • Arabic Literature: Siyar us Sahābiyāt
  • Arabic Literature: Qasasun Nabiyyīn – Parts 3 & 4
  • Tajwīd (Intonation): Rawdatut Tajwīd
  • Nahw (Syntax/Grammar): Āsān Nahw – Part 2
  • Fiqh (Jurisprudence): Behishtī Zewar – Part 2
  • Fiqh (Jurisprudence): Mukhtasar al Qudūrī – Part 1
  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Zādut Tālibīn

Year Four

  • Translation of the Qur’ān: Qur’ān – Parts 1, 2 & 3
  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Riyād us Sālihīn – Parts 1 & 2
  • Principles Of Jurisprudence: Usūlush Shāshī
  • Fiqh (Jurisprudence): Mukhtasar al Qudūrī – Part 2
  • Arabic Literature: Qasasun Nabiyyīn – Part 5

Year Five

  • Commentary of the Qur’ān: Tafsīr al Jalālayn – Parts 1, 2 & 3
  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Mishkātul Masābīh – Parts 1 & 2
  • Fiqh (Jurisprudence): Al-Hidāyah – Part 1
  • Fiqh (Jurisprudence): Al-Hidāyah – Part 2 with The Muwatta of Imām Muhammad
  • Arabic Literature: Qasasun Nabiyyīn – Part 5 (final part)

Year Six

  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Sahīhul-Bukhārī – Parts 1 & 2
  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Sahīh Muslim
  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Jāmi’ut-Tirmidhī
  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Sunan Abī Dāwūd
  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Sunan an-Nasā’ī
  • Ahādīth (Traditions): Sunan Ibn Mājah

Application Form